Monday, March 1, 2010

Daniyal Mueenuddin: NYC March 3, 2010 Award Night for Writer-Farmer

Credit for these luscious photos goes to public internet sites nonspecific...if I find out more about their origin, I will be glad to identify further.

Author writes about both rural and city life...

The Story Prize’s annual event will take place at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium in New York City at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 3, 2010. Plz SEE below for more information...

Official Website - Daniyal Mueenuddin The official website of Daniyal Mueenuddin, the author of the short-story collection - here

If you would go briefly to read and listen to various videos, you would also grow to respect and appreciate Daniyal who is Muslim, Pakistani, American, studied law, writing and read lots of the master, Chekov (one of my favorite writers from youth) -He is clear on why the disconnect between Pakistan and America - east and west and yet wants to be a part of the solution.

A writer, a farmer (Pakistani/American) who bridges worlds hear this stellar interview with NPR

Reads from his book of short stories and discusses writing about Lahore and other places/people with Mohsin Hamid - another writer who bridges worlds - one Pakistan - they discuss internal displacement and the richness of this position...

Three debut collections vie for the prestigious annual book award.
Now in its sixth year, The Story Prize, an annual award for books of short fiction, is pleased to honor three outstanding short story collections chosen from an exceptional group published in 2009. The three finalists—all debut collections—are:

In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin (W.W.Norton)
His competition:
Drift by Victoria Patterson (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned by Wells Tower (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
These three books were selected from among 78 story collections from 53 different publishers or imprints.

Mueenuddin’s In Other Rooms, Other Wonders, which was also a finalist for the National Book Awards, immerses readers in the colorful world of a vast estate in feudal Pakistan. Patterson’s Drift presents connected stories about women and men struggling to find their place in wealthy Newport Beach, California. And eccentric characters in problematic relationships populate Tower’s Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned, which was also a finalist for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award.

The Story Prize’s annual event will take place at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium in New York City at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 3, 2010. The winner receives $20,000 and each runner-up will receive $5,000.

In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin (W. W. Norton)—These eight connected stories set in southern Pakistan bring to life the world of an aging feudal landlord, his Western educated daughters, desperate and conniving servants, farm workers, corrupt judges, politicians, aristocrats, and foreigners. Throughout, the writing is elegant and self-assured, and deeply insightful without being judgmental.

Daniyal Mueenuddin was brought up in Lahore, Pakistan, and Elroy, Wisconsin. He is a graduate of Dartmouth College and Yale Law School. His stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Granta, Zoetrope, and The Best American Short Stories 2008 selected by Salman Rushdie, and will appear in PEN/O.Henry Prize Stories 2010. For a number of years he practiced law in New York. He lives in London and on a farm in Pakistan’s southern Punjab.

About The Story Prize
Founder Julie Lindsey and Director Larry Dark selected the finalists for The Story Prize. Three independent judges will determine the winner. This year’s judges are writer A.M. Homes, journalist/blogger Carolyn Kellogg, and librarian Bill Kelly.

The Story Prize’s annual event will take place at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium in New York City at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 3. That night, the three finalists will read selections from their work, after which Director Larry Dark will interview each writer on-stage. At the end of the event, Founder Julie Lindsey will announce the winner and present that author with $20,000 and an engraved silver bowl. The two runners-up will each receive $5,000. Previous winners of The Story Prize are The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat (2005), The Hill Road by Patrick O’Keeffe (2006), The Stories of Mary Gordon by Mary Gordon (2007), Like You’d Understand, Anyway by Jim Shepard (2008), and Our Story Begins by Tobias Wolff (2009).

For $14 general admission tickets go to www dot SmartTix dot com
Or contact The New School box office at 212 229-5488 or

For more on The Story Prize please read the official blog at here or follow on Twitter at here

For publicity and further questions, please contact Kimberly Burns, or 212.226.0981.

Or simply do what I'm going to do: buy the book and read it...and look for more reports on Daniyal and other writers who are bridging worlds...

No comments: